fbpx

Ukrainian judiciary continues flexible operations during quarantine

28/ 03/ 2020

On 27 March 2020, the official website of Ukraine’s judiciary published recommendations provided by the High Council of Justice regarding the operation of the courts during the quarantine period. The Council of Justice advised the courts to:

  • conduct court hearings online (where possible);
  • restrict access of third parties to court hearings;
  • process correspondence electronically;
  • advise participants of proceedings about the possibility of postponing hearings;
  • organise a flexible work schedule for judges and court staff;
  • provide court staff with conditions to work remotely (if possible).

In general, the measures recommended by the Council of Justice and currently taken by Ukrainian judiciary are aimed at ensuring the smooth operation of the judicial system during the quarantine period. At the same time, Ukraine’s judiciary has not ceased its work although in practice many judges have cancelled hearings falling within the quarantine period.

Our team is keeping track of crucial legislative changes in connection with the quarantine regime in Ukraine, including the operation of the judiciary. In particular, on 30 March 2020 Ukraine’s parliament adopted legislative amendments (subject to signing by the President of Ukraine and further promulgation) aimed at ensuring the smooth operation of the Ukrainian judiciary during the quarantine period. We will provide overview of these legislative amendments shortly.

For more information on judiciary’s operation in Ukraine during the quarantine, contact your regular CMS advisor or local CMS experts.

Source: Recommendations to the courts on ensuring stable operation during the quarantine period provided by the High Council of Justice (in Ukrainian).

Authors:

Olexander Martinenko, Senior Partner, olexander.martinenko@cms-cmno.com

Olga Shenk, Counsel, olga.shenk@cms-cmno.com

Vladyslav Kurylko, Associate, vladyslav.kurylko@cms-cmno.com

Olga Stetsenko, Lawyer, olga.stetsenko@cms-cmno.com

Maria Orlyk, Partner, maira.orlyk@cms-rrh.com

Anna Pogrebna, Partner, anna.pogrebna@cms-rrh.com

Oleksandr Protsiuk, Counsel, olexandr.protsiuk@cms-rrh.com

Oleksandra Prysiazhniuk, oleksandra.prysiazhniuk@cms-rrh.com

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Start
in the Telegram bot
Read articles. Share in social networks
0 Shares

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: